Incognito browsing is a browsing session in which the browsing history, cookies, and other temporary files acquired during the session are deleted after the session is ended. Here are some ways in which you can manage your web history on Google Chrome.
Deleting Your Browsing History
- Click the Google Chrome menu button (shown above in yellow), then click “History.” Note that you can delete particular websites from the list of sites visited by selecting their check box and clicking on “Remove Selected Items.”
- Select “Clear browsing data” and choose what you want deleted in the dialog box that appears. NOTE: the browser is set to remove history from the previous day. Any history more than a day old will be saved. You can choose to delete all of your history and browsing files by selecting all of the check boxes in the “clear browsing data” dialog box and selecting “the beginning of time” in the “obliterate the following items from” drop box (shown in yellow below).
- After selecting the items you wish deleted, click “Clear browsing data” (shown below in red).
If you don’t want to delete all of your past history yet still delete some of your browsing data, incognito browsing is a perfect way to accomplish this. It allows you start a browsing session and have all of the files from that session be deleted once the session is over. NOTE: Any websites that are bookmarked or added to favorites WILL be saved to your computer. All other records of your browsing activity will be erased upon closing all Incognito Google Chrome windows.
- Click on the Google Chrome menu (shown above in yellow) and click “New incognito window.” Note: The incognito window is separate from the original window you used to open it. How it should look on a Mac is shown below.
Now you’re set to begin your incognito browsing session. Remember: All bookmarks and downloads made during an incognito browsing session WILL BE SAVED.